Divorce Can be a Confusing Time. Do You Have Questions? (Part 1)

Do you have questions about the divorce process? We have answers!

 

Many times divorce clients walk into our office, they arrive with a long list of questions. Some have done a lot of research and just need the details ironed out. Others show up with no idea of what lies ahead or what to expect. Some people’s divorces have been slowly evolving out of failing marriages for years, while others were hit out of left field with the fact that it’s suddenly over. Everyone’s situations are different.

 

But regardless of what your unique circumstances are, chances are you have questions about your divorce. Things about the law that confuse you. Or requirements that don’t make sense. Perhaps legal language you read online that you simply don’t understand. When you consider the fact that divorce isn’t something that most people do often, and laws change regularly, it can be hard to know what applies to you and what doesn’t.

 

So with that in mind, we’ve compiled a list of the most common questions we get from clients here in Michigan. Hopefully this helps clear up some of the confusion:

 

Is it expensive to get divorced in Michigan?

 

The cost of divorce depends on a number of factors. The most common factors that could influence the final cost of your divorce are:

  • The county you live in,
  • Whether or not your divorce is contested,
  • Whether child custody is an issue,
  • The number of assets to be divided,
  • Which attorney you hire to represent you

 

How quickly can I file for divorce in Michigan?

 

If you’re already a permanent resident in Michigan, you can file for divorce at your earliest convenience. However, if you’ve recently moved to Michigan, you’ll need to have lived in the state for a minimum of 180 days, and in the county where you are filing for a minimum of 10 days.

 

How long does it take to finalize a divorce in Michigan?

 

Much like the question about how much it costs to get divorced, the answer to this question depends on several factors. For example, how quickly to respond to your attorney’s requests for information will affect the timeline, as will fights between you and your spouse that take time to reach a solution.

 

It’s also important to remember that in Michigan, any divorce has a waiting period of 60 days. If there are children, the mandatory waiting period is 6 months before the State will grant your divorce.  There are certain circumstances where the waiting period will be waived upon a showing of “good cause.”  But ultimately, every divorce is different. Do your best to hire a good attorney, and be quick and responsive, as these are factors you can control!

Do I need to have an attorney to get divorced in Michigan?

 

You are not legally required to have an attorney represent you through the divorce process. However, filing for divorce can be a complex process. In order to ensure that your best interests are properly represented and unnecessary delays are avoided, it’s always a good idea to have an experienced family law attorney representing you, both in and out of court.

 

If you or a loved one are considering a divorce in MIchigan, and have questions about the process, or what to expect next, call us 24/7 at 866 766 5245. Our experienced family law attorneys can help you every step of the way. And we’ll see you next time for part two of this list of questions you may need answers to!

 

Testimonials

I recently finalized my divorce and Stephanie Service was my Attorney. She was AMAZING, and WORTH EVERY PENNY! She helped me work through the legalities of a complex divorce with an unstable ex. In the end I walked away feeling GREAT! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND her to anyone looking for a "QUALITY" Divorce Attorney!!

Amelia on Google, 2017